Procor’s Senior Vice President, Joseph Critell has compiled a list of when and where Hurricane Florence mandatory Evacuation Zones and Curfews occurred as a result of the storm. This data may prove useful to businesses filing a claim under Business Interruption and additional coverages such as Civil Authority, Ingress / Egress, and Contingent Business Interruption.


To learn more about additional coverages please read> 4 Types of Additional Coverages In Your Commercial Property Policies



Hurricane Florence Mandatory Evacuation Zones

North Carolina

North Carolina’s Governor Roy Cooper urged everyone in the coastal area to follow state evacuation orders.

South Carolina

Governor Henry McMaster has ordered an evacuation of the entire South Carolina coast. These evacuations are mandatory and include Horry, Georgetown, Charleston, Berkeley, Beaufort, Jasper, Colleton, and Dorchester counties beginning at 12 p.m. on Tuesday, September 11. However, after the press conference on September 11, he rescinded the order for Beaufort, Jasper and Colleton counties.

Governor Henry McMaster Saturday (September 15) announced that evacuation orders for Horry and Georgetown counties will be lifted Sunday morning, Sunday, September 16 at 9 a.m. On September 15th, the governor lifted evacuation orders for all other previously evacuated zones.


Governor Ralph Northam issued a mandatory evacuation order for coastal Virginia residents in Zone A in advance of Hurricane Florence, effective Tuesday, September 11 at 8 a.m. Zone A includes low-lying areas of Hampton Roads and the Eastern Shore. Residents of Zone A are urged to move to higher ground.

On September 14, Governor Ralph Northam lifted the mandatory evacuation of residents in Zone A of Hampton Roads, the Eastern Shore, Northern Neck and Middle Peninsula at 11 a.m. on Friday, September 14. following the National Weather Service lifting the tropical storm warning for coastal Virginia.

Curfews due to Hurricane Florence

North Carolina

South Carolina

  • Florence County - 8 p.m. until 7 a.m.
  • Candler County - 11 p.m. until further notice
  • Chatham County - 11 p.m. Monday to 6 a.m. Tuesday
  • Effingham County - 11 p.m. to 6 a.m. on Tuesday
  • Evans County - Curfew until further notice.
  • Glynn County - Midnight on Sunday until 6 a.m. Tuesday
  • Long County - Sheriff Nobles is lifting the curfew at 6 p.m. on Monday
  • Pembroke - Sunset to sunrise until further notice
  • Richmond Hill - 7 p.m. to 7 a.m. (Does not include Bryan County)
  • Tattnall County - Midnight until further notice.
  • Wayne County - 8 p.m. to 8 a.m.
  • Horry County - Curfews are in effect for the following areas:
    • City of Conway - A curfew is in place from 7 p.m. to 7 a.m. and will remain in place until further notice.
    • Dillon County - City of Dillon and Town of Latta lifting curfew for Monday; Dillon County will remain on curfew 8 p.m.-7 a.m.
    • City of Hartsville - a curfew beginning at 6 p.m. tonight (September 16th) until 6 a.m. tomorrow (September 17th.)
    • Latta - a curfew for Sunday is in place for the day until further notice.
    • Lumberton, N.C. - Starting Thursday, the curfew hours will be from sunset to sunrise and will remain active until further notice.
    • Marion County - Starting Monday, a curfew from 8 p.m. to 7 a.m. will be in effect until further notice. This curfew covers the City of Mullins, Town of Nichols and Town of Sellers.
    • The City of Marion - Starting Monday will be implementing a curfew within the city limits from 8 p.m. tonight until 7 a.m. tomorrow.
  • Fayetteville – sunset to sunrise
  • Myrtle Beach – starting September 14 at 7 p.m. to September 15, at 7 a.m. The city first issued a curfew September 12 from 10 p.m. to 6 a.m. and September 13, from 7 p.m. to 7 a.m.
  • Beaufort - 7 p.m. to 7 a.m. for residents on the islands.